Kylian Mbappe reached another personal milestone last night after he was named on the 30-man shortlist for the 2017 Ballon d’Or award.

France Football opted to include the 18-year old sensation in the running for the trophy following his incredible breakthrough season at Monaco last season.

Image: PA

Mbappe scored 24 goals in all competitions as Leonardo Jardim’s side won their first Ligue One title for 17 years, as well as going on a memorable run to the Champions League semi-finals and defeating the likes of Manchester City and Monaco.

His sublime form last term saw him brought into the France national team fold, and he’s since cemented himself as the top talent in world football with his displays for PSG after signing from Monaco.

Image: PA

And despite 2016/17 being his first proper campaign as a professional, the Frenchman has deservedly made the Ballon d’Or shortlist – making history in the process.

Aged 18 years and nine months old, Mbappe’s inclusion means he is the youngest ever nominee for the Ballon d’Or. Before Mbappe, Michael Owen, a winner in 2001, was the youngest player to be nominated after he making the cut in 1998 following his heroics against Argentina in the World Cup.

Mbappe is of course much more likely to win the 2017 Golden Boy award, which he is also nominated, but making the list so early in his career is quite remarkable.

Here is the full 30-man shortlist:

Neymar (PSG/Brazil)

Luka Modric (Real Madrid/Croatia)

Paulo Dybala (Juventus/Argentina)

Marcelo (Real Madrid/Brazil)

N’Golo Kante (Chelsea/France)

Luis Suarez (Barcelona/Uruguay)

Sergio Ramos (Real Madrid/Spain)

Jan Oblak (Atletico Madrid/Slovenia)

Philippe Coutinho (Liverpool/Brazil)

Dries Mertens (Napoli/Belgium)

Kevin De Bruyne (Manchester City/Belgium)

Robert Lewandowski (Bayern Munich/Poland)

David De Gea (Manchester United/Spain)

Harry Kane (Tottenham/England)

Edin Dzeko (Roma/Bosnia)

Antoine Griezmann (Atletico Madrid/France)

Toni Kroos (Real Madrid/Germany)

Sadio Mane (Liverpool/Senegal)

Radamel Falcao (Monaco/Colombia)

Gianluigi Buffon (Juventus/Italy)

Lionel Messi (Barcelona/Argentina)

Mats Hummels (Bayern Munich/Germany)

Edinson Cavani (PSG/Uruguay)

Pierre-Emerick Aubameyang (Borussia Dortmund/Gabon)

Karim Benzema (Real Madrid/France)

Eden Hazard (Chelsea/Belgium)

Kylian Mbappe (PSG/France)

Cristiano Ronaldo (Real Madrid/Portugal)

Isco (Real Madrid/Spain)

Leonardo Bonucci (Juventus/Italy)